top of page

BLOG

  • r16795

Goodbye Gardens

Updated: Dec 3, 2018

Journal 7



This was the final week of working in the gardens for our team, and I am a little sad all things considered. It was fun while it lasted, and while our plants did not grow it was fun. Although to be fair they did not grow because someone stole our plants, and to be fair we could not do much with that fact. The picnic was fun in the sense that it made us interact with one another besides talking about our readings we do in class. What I mean is that it was fun to talk to one another as normal people and about what was going on in our lives. Nothing personal like family matters, but other things like school related work or what we did over the weekends. Although to be fair we were still kind of indifferent to each other. In some cases a person would tell a joke that was meant to be funny and we would laugh, but it would be one of those lighthearted laughs to make it so that we did not seem rude. Now I am not going to lie I am one of those who stayed relatively quiet during the picnic, and mainly for the reason because I do not like talking all that much. However, whenever someone asked me a question, or I knew the response to someone else’s question I talked. The others that came to the picnic where a mixed basket when it came to talking, and by mixed basket I mean that they talked, but basically about the stuff I explained from before. School, their gardens, and other some other things.

When it came to food the picnic served a great purpose for a few reasons. What I immediately noticed after the food came out was that everyone started getting more comfortable around each other. Before the food came out we were not talking to each other very much, but as the food was given out we started opening up more. It was kind of remarkable for me to stand back and watch how something as simple as food helped the situation as a whole. I have heard, from time to time, that food has this way of bringing people together, and now I think I finally understand the full scope of that message. Before I always thought that what the saying was talking about was that when food was served it made it so that everyone could have a good time, but I have never sat back and seen what that really means. Watching everyone chatting amiably and having a good time while enjoying the food we all brought over. The best part about the food was that it was all healthy food that is good for my body, and not the junk food you would see at most picnic parties. No chips, soda, or even sandwiches. That may sound like a bad thing, but instead it was the opposite in my opinion. Honestly, I liked this better because of the fact that it was healthy food instead of the junk food. It made me feel good that I was giving my body good nutrients and a healthy diet. Having a fiber nutrient bar, ginger, and even fresh fruit brings a smile to my face than any other food. However, I can say that if there was a Whataburger available then I would’ve taken the opportunity. Regardless of how bad the food would have been for my body, but only if it was Whataburger and possibly not any other place.


When it comes to picnics I do not generally like them, but for one reason in particular and it does not even relate to any of the people, the food, or even that it is outdoors. It is the bugs. I absolutely hate bugs being around me when I am eating. Just to be clear on how much I hate them being around me here is a clear example of how I go about this type of problem. If there is one fly, one, in my house while I am eating then it has to go away somehow someway. I do not care how it is done, but just that it gets resolved quickly enough that my food does not got to waste. Another thing that I hate is wasting food, it is one of my pet peeves. Whether the bug dies by my hand or fly’s off out of my house it has to get away from me before I am able to eat. We are standing outside eating, and there are fly’s left and right trying to get at me, so this is irritating me as a whole, but I can get through it just this once. Besides this little instance the picnic was fun and for the reason that I do not go out and eat with others outside very often. Basically, for the reasons I listed in my minor rant, but I found that it was a great experience to interact with the other from the class, and showed me just how food is used as a medium to bring people together.




2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page