top of page

BLOG

  • r16795

Curandero

Updated: Dec 3, 2018

Journal 5

“Food is medicine”, that is something that I have heard for most of my life. Ever since I was I believe ten years old I cannot remember my exact age, but I know it was when I was still in elementary school. I actually did not get this idea from my parents, or anyone of my family, but rather a comic book. This phrase was worded a bit differently, but it still carries the same impact as this saying does. The saying I know is, “To eat is to live,” when compared to the other one is not too far off. You see when I eat I think of it as being one of the simple things people take for granted. There are some people in the world who cannot eat three meals a day, or even have the option of going out to eat whenever, wherever, and however they so choose. I am one of the fortunate to have this choice available to me, so every time I eat I remember that it is a gift. That someone somewhere wishes they could have a single bite of my burger, or eat a crumb off of my cinnamon roll I had for breakfast, or even a small sample of the bag of chips I had for a snack when I was writing. Food is medicine is not only meant as a saying for people to know what it is like to have an abundance of food, but also that it is a piece of living life itself it is one of the simple joys in life that I will take full advantage of doing. After all a starving person is never picky about their food.



Writing As a Pastime



Readers can easily sign up to become members of your blog and get a personal profile page. Members can follow one another and be followed, they can check out each other’s profiles, see what people have liked or commented on, and get notifications.

Writing has always been a pastime activity for me to do, and I have never thought of it as being anything different. When I am writing about something I enjoy I often find myself being lost in the moment. A blissful experience that I can compare to that of eating. As I write my words down I enjoy the happiness it gives me. From the way my hands glide across the paper like unraveling a smooth tortilla, to the way my fingers ache and become sore after typing for too long on my computer. It almost feels like I have been repeatedly been smashing an avocado to make guacamole for the Sunday night game, but only using the tips of my fingers instead of my whole hands. The delight that comes to my mind as it runs wild with ideas that I try to jot down before I can forget it, or before my fingers tier out. Almost like adding that finishing touch on a cake recipe that just has to be added into the final completed product. After all the cake just needs to have that extra layer of chocolate frosting.

It also goes in hand with my own groups gardening work, and how we have made a habit of creating a way to make gardening as a relaxing experience instead of the hard labor it is known as being. Especially by people from my age group. Weeding out the offending branches that are strangling the some of our herb plants. Cleaning out the extra dead branches that have been left by the changing of the seasons. They have not decomposed to it is up to us to take them out so that the new herbs can come in and bloom into the much needed medical herbs the student body needs so much. Even more so for the hospitals and their own patients that need the plants that we are growing her in the garden. Watering has never been so important as it is in here, and the plants need it ever so much especially with the weeds eating up the extra water that is mainly used for the herb gardens. In the book Curandero it is shown repeatedly how important herbs are for medical usage. Throughout the entirety of the novel it depicts how shamans and medical experts rely on these herbs in order to take care of their patients. Going from using a broken shard of glass to cut out a tumor in someone’s leg, to even in this day and age conducting a ritual to offer good maternity to woman as shamans conduct in Mexico. There are numerous ways that herbs, and other food can be looked at as being medicine. However, it is up to us to grow these herbs correctly by taking care of gardens and plantations in order to use them effectively.





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page