top of page

BLOG

  • r16795

Starbucks

Updated: Dec 3, 2018

Journal 2



Sitting here on this wooden chair and watching as this coffee business work is kind of dull and boring at first, but it does promote its merits. The chair is a bit stiff and possess almost no room for comfort, but I really doubt the designers made this chair for being sit upon by somebody for over three hours. The lights are dim and the air is cold thanks to the vent in the corner of the room blowing in a soft breeze constantly. It also does not help that wearing a no sleeve shirt and shorts makes it a little worse, but I prefer this instead of a humid environment. The smell of coffee beans does improve the atmosphere a bit. Which is probably why I can stay here for so long. As an added bonus I use my personal music as a canceler for the cacophony of sounds. After all that’s the reason I added hours of Celtic music to my song albums.


At first glance it seems like a simple business a person takes an order then give it to another to prepare it, and finally give it to the customer. However, there is more to it than just that. If you take a step back and observe it from a distance you can see the bigger picture. It’s a fluent rhythm of work that operates around and through each problem that it is given like a well-oiled machine. As people go in one way, and then come out another along with their orders in almost a steady stream is almost poetic in a way. Though, on the opposite side of the counter is another story altogether. Three people in all, but sometimes adding another person who probably just came from class or home. It actually past rush hour right now at ten in the morning. Most people have already come and gone and now only a few trickle in every once in a while, but when they do then the magic starts to happen. Have you ever seen how a machine works? How when it is presented with a problem it works through it one step at a time. First this, then this, and finally the finishing touch to complete the answer. It is almost like that as I watch these people continuously to work. While not working they do their own thing to pass the time. Some conversing with each other, others looking on their phones possibly watching the newest gossip hit the internet, but as the saying goes when duty calls they are ready and waiting. After all making this coffee Frappuccino takes some skill in the art of being a barista.


Have you ever seen how a machine works...It is almost like that as I watch these people continuously to work.

Now I could go to another place and watch from afar in a different section, but that may take away from the atmosphere I find myself in, and I do not wish to move for an instant. Entranced as I watch them toil away customer after customer with no end in sight. However, they do it all without a second thought, and to my surprise they do so while making small talk. As if it was not a challenge at all in the slightest. Practice makes perfect as so I have been told, and after seeing this there is no doubt in my mind that those words have never been truer than they are now. It did not even cross my mind by thirty minutes have gone by and I only feels like thirty seconds. I am so entrapped by their work I forget to change the skip the advertisement on my computer. Even more so that my music has stopped in favor of blasting something out of the Billboard Top 100 of this week. The only reason I noticed was because someone was trying to sell me a new car that I had no interest in buying. I have enough bills as it already is thank you very much, and I do not need more piled onto that hectic bill. Taking off my headphones I watch entranced again as they continue their work, but this time a lot slower as the line is a lot shorter. After finishing up the last of the customers they go back to what they were doing before. Conversing with each other about the latest gossip. I never really realized it, but the life of a barista is something that is almost ironic that the fast paced, high adrenaline workers seem almost to fit to perfectly within a setting such as they are in, but being surrounded by coffee does have its benefits and after seeing this I give them the upmost respect for all that they do, but I’ll never tell them that outright.


Respect:

I give them the upmost respect for all that they do, but I’ll never tell them that outright .



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page